Recognizing Champions for the Malawi 2063

On 19th January 2021, the country launched its long-term development Vision, the Malawi 2063 (MW2063). As Malawians, we desire an inclusively wealthy and self-reliant nation and have resolved not to let any state or non-state actor to derail us.

Malawi is developing, but at a worrisomely slow pace. This lack of haste is apparent in most of our decision-making processes including planning and implementation. The key solution, however, is to hold each other accountable and to never tolerate mediocrity, both in the public and private sectors. We don’t have the luxury of time. But the assurance is that we have all it takes to deliver on making this nation a middle-income country by 2030 and meeting most of the Sustainable Development Goals in this last decade of action.

It is in light of the above that the National Planning Commission has started identifying and recognizing Champions of the Malawi 2063. These are patriotic Malawians that are passionately taking us in the right direction either in intensively popularizing the MW2063 so we remain reminded of the Malawi we want, and doing or supporting outstanding wealth-creating interventions worthy emulating and scaling-up. We celebrate such Malawians and hope others can be inspired and take ownership in the implementation of our country’s vision. The list of the Champions identified so far, comprising some unsung heroes, will soon be made public.
The Champions are identified in line with their contribution to the MW2063’s three Pillars of wealth creation: Agricultural Productivity and Commercialization, Industrialization (which includes mining) and Urbanization which includes creation of secondary cities and tourism hubs. Similarly, we are having champions in the seven enablers of inclusive wealth creation and self-reliance namely Mindset Change, Effective Governance Systems and Institutions, Enhanced Public Sector Performance, Private Sector Dynamism, Human Capital Development, Economic Infrastructure, and Environmental Sustainability.

Those that received such recognition should pat themselves on the back because their names came up as a result of a rigorous identification process done by independent structures of the National Planning Commission.
Suffice to mention that, save for the Presidency and leaders of the political parties represented in Parliament who have been recognized due to their critical role of championing continuity of development policies and programmes beyond political regimes, no civil servant nor member of Parliament nor cabinet minister has been bestowed with the Champion title since they are all by default supposed to champion implementation of the country’s long-term development vision.

May we all remember, however, that we are all leaders and champions without titles and we should not desire special recognition to do our part. The Malawi we want will depend on the hardwork and patriotic actions of each one of us. What you and me do today is what we will bequeath to our children and theirs. What do you wish to be remembered for?
The Malawi we want is happening but let us pick up on the pace! Be the Champion that will accelerate it!

Thomas Chataghalala Munthali, PhD
Director General

Share This

Scroll to Top